Recipe: Salted Caramel Pumpkin Cheesecake

I took some PTO this past week and decided I wanted to bake. I’m working on eating a healthier diet, which includes eliminating sugar, simple carbs and grains. It’s been going pretty well, but I knew it’d be difficult to stick to this while making a dessert that included salted caramel (I love almost anything with salted caramel!), pumpkin and cheesecake.

I found this recipe on Pinterest and decided to give it a shot.

I followed the recipe except for the following modifications:

  • I flopped the brown sugar and white sugar measurements; honestly, it was because I didn’t realize I was almost out of brown sugar. It didn’t affect the cheesecake at all.
  • I ground my own cinnamon from sticks, so to make sure all the sugar and spices were very fine, I put it all in the Vitamix for a little bit.
  • I cut some of the sugar in the crust … I thought the cheesecakes would be sweet enough with sugar in the crust, cheesecake and caramel.
  • I used less caramel on the tops to cut out some of the sweetness.

It turned out awesome and I did end up trying a bit of one. It’s so good! I think this will become a fall staple recipe.